Skip to content ↓


The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework provides us with the scaffold for our Early Years curriculum and learning is planned through the Curiosity Approach. By the end of the Reception year, our intent is to ensure that all children make at least good progress from their starting points and are equipped with the skills and knowledge to have a smooth transition into Year 1

At Grace Cook we use the Development Matters: Non-statutory curriculum guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage (July2021), to support us with the delivery of our curriculum building on the strengths and meeting the needs of all children.

Our curriculum is play-based and encompasses the seven areas of learning and development. Our Early Years team is committed to providing an environment that is rich with possibilities, develops children’s independence and puts children right at the centre of their own learning.

The intent of our EYFS curriculum is to;

C create an environment that ignites curiosity

U use authentic resources to create a unique curriculum

R recognise children’s prior learning

I allow children to be independent and engage in quality interactions

O offer opportunities to talk and listen to develop life skills – Oracy

S believe that every child can succeed

I foster curiosity and investigation which in turn develops children’s involvement and engagement in their learning.

T support children to be thinkers of the future

Y building resilient learners yes we can do it!

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”   Walt Disney